BRICS+ Nations Carefully Planning Official Entry in 2024

Joshua Ramos
Source: Modern Diplomacy

With invitations being given at the bloc’s 2024 annual summit, the BRICS+ nations are carefully planning their official entry at the start of 2024. Argentina surprisingly rejected its invitation to the bloc. However, the five other countries announced at the event are poised to make their presence known in the coming year.

The bloc officially invited Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Iran, Egypt, and Ethiopia to join its ranks. Subsequently, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov has discussed increased cooperation. Moreover, Lavrov stated that cooperation is set to hit overdrive at the 2024 annual summit taking place in Russia.

india saudi arabia mbs narendra modi brics
Source: T Narayan / Bloomberg

Also Read: BRICS Digital Currency to Take a Step Forward in 2024

BRICS+ Nations to Officially Join Alliance in 2024

The geopolitical sector shifted massively when it was announced that the BRICS bloc would go from five to 10. The economic alliance announced a landmark expansion after months of speculation. That effort resulted in premium economics and encouraged developing nations to join the fray.

Now, those BRICS+ nations are set to carefully plan their official entry into the bloc as 2024 arrives. Indeed, Russia’s foreign minister, Sergei Lavrov, noted the importance of the 2024 summit. Specifically, he noted its role in emphasizing how the newly expanded bloc can best make use of its mutual partnerships.

brics leaders meet
Source: AFP

Also Read: China Comments on Argentina’s BRICS Rejection

“Next year, the BRICS presidency passes to the Russian Federation,” Lavrov noted. “We are focused on productive, energetic work on strengthening the strategic partnership in all areas.”Additionally, he discussed the expansion announcement as bringing forth “tectonic shifts in the international arena.”

Saudi Arabia and the UAE are poised to have massive impacts on the bloc next year. Moreover, the 2024 summit will provide a place to announce the efforts that have been put into growing those collaborative efforts. Ultimately, paying off the work that all of the incoming countries have put in.